Miami, Florida, August 22nd, 2017

Luis Almagro, OAS Secretary General, to Preside over the Interamerican Institute for Democracy’s AWARDS Presenting Ceremony 

The Secretary General of the OAS is receiving the “Francisco de Miranda” Award established to honor the memory of Latin America’s most distinguished freedom fighter and thinker.

The Interamerican Institute for Democracy (IID) is honoring the Secretary General of the OAS for his unstinting support for democracy and freedom in the hemisphere. The Honorable Luis Almagro has focused his mandate as OAS Secretary general in sustaining the spirit and letter of the Inter American Democratic Charter thereby championing the strengthening of Rule of Law

Other awards bestowed by the IID to eminent hemispheric leaders to be presented in the event are:

Henri Dunant Award – Corporate Social Responsibility conferred to:

*Aida Levitan, PhD the unquestionable champion of the best causes that have made Miami a cosmopolitan and amenable city. Ms. Levitan is recognized as a pioneering force in inserting corporate social responsibility criteria to business decisions.

Horacio Aguirre Award – Excellence in Journalism conferred to:

*Jorge Lanata, for an outstanding work in documenting and reporting the scourge of corruption that prevents   countries from attaining development.

*Manuel Aguilera, for the innovative establishment of Hispanopost.

*Fundamedios, Ecuador, for its continuing fight to preserve freedom of expression.

The event will take place on

September 14th, 2017 at 6:00 PM  (SUSPENDIDO)


 Miami Dade College – Wolfson Campus

Chapman Conference Center – Room 3210

254 NE 4th St Miami, Florida 33132 (Map)

The Interamerican Institute for Democracy, presided by Carlos Alberto Montaner, is a nonprofit institution serving the goals of strengthening democracy and freedom in Latin America and fostering a better understanding and closer relations between the U.S. and the region.

# # #